Israel Martinez
The Minutes

A Description

The minutes is the seventh recording of Israel Martínez. He is one of the most prominent young sound-multidisciplinary artists and electronic musicians today.

As in his previous albums he blends field recordings and electronic sounds, creating a constant flow from tension to quietness. There are 10 tracks, but The minutes can be listened to as one whole piece.

The minutes was composed between 2011 and 2012 in Mexico, a country in deep violent crisis. The government’s strategy of eradicating drug cartels detonated a war between organized crime, police and military, while affecting mainly innocent people.

Over 60,000 people died between 2006 and 2012. Many places experienced a social transformation; there were more empty playgrounds, abandoned streets and tension. On “The minutes” Martínez tried to express the exasperating feeling of uncertainty of a big sector of Mexican society, using the sound and compositions as a “communication bridge”.

The album includes photos taken by Martínez and Mariana Ampudia during the recording journeys throughout the country.

A Artist Info

The work of Israel Martínez (Mexico 1979) has been developed in a wide range of proposals and media, aiming to generate a reflection of society through sound and music.

In the mid-nineties he began writing for underground fanzines in Mexico. Since then he has gone through various territories such as creating music at the intersection of electroacoustic, experimental music, field recording and spatiality. He has also made audio works without a musical purpose, video installations, site-specific projects, actions, interventions, graphic works through photography, typing, photocopying, and some other media. In 2007 he received the Award of Distinction of Prix Ars Electronica in the category of Digital Music.

In 2012 he was a guest of the prestigious Artist-in-Berlin Residence Program by DAAD. Martínez is also co-director of Mexican label Abolipop and its side-project Suplex. Labels such as Sub Rosa and Aagoo have released his music.

He has appeared in compilations around the world, including with British magazine The Wire.

A Metadata

Formats : CD/mp3
Catalog Number : AGO056
Barcode : 95225945595
Release Date : April 1 2013

1. Borrados
2. Oblique Conjectures
3. Tribonera
4. Lamira
5. Sada
6. Xiriah
7. Bohemia
8. Ojodeagua
9. Tosho
10. Tabula Pacifico

A Purchase

CD : $10.00 + Shipping costs
Immediate Download : $6.99
iTunes : $9.99

A Artwork

B Listen to Track 2

Israel Martinez
The Minutes

Israel Martinez
The Minutes

A Related